Seeking Compensation after a New Mexico Hit-and-Run Accident

While seeking financial compensation after any traffic accident can be a lengthy and frustrating process, perhaps no other type of accident is more frustrating than a New Mexico hit-and-run accident. For starters, the responsible party may not be located for days or weeks after the accident – if at all. This puts accidents victims in a difficult spot when it comes time to pay for the myriad costs associated with being an accident victim.

Passing BusEven when a hit-and-run driver cannot be located, however, hit-and-run accident victims may have a means of recovering compensation for their injuries through their own insurance company. New Mexico law mandates that all drivers carry a certain amount of insurance coverage, including $25,000 per person for two people, for a total of $50,000. Thus, a driver with even the bare minimum amount of insurance in New Mexico can file a claim for compensation under their own insurance policy up to these limits. Of course, it is recommended to carry more than the minimum amount of insurance, in the event that injuries from an accident exceed $25,000 per person.

Driver Flees Scene After Bus Accident

Earlier this month, one man was arrested after he initially fled the scene of a bus accident and then returned a short time later. According to a local news report, the accident occurred when the bus driver attempted to make a left turn through an intersection and clipped another vehicle that was waiting to make a turn in the process. Thankfully, no one was injured; however, witnesses say that it was very clear the accident involved property damage, and the bus driver must have known that he was involved in a collision.

The bus driver initially fled the scene of the accident, failing to stop and exchange information with the other motorist or check on her wellbeing. That driver later called the police and reported the bus’ information. A short time later, a call was made to the bus driver’s supervisor, and not long afterwards, the bus driver returned to the scene. During a preliminary interview with authorities, police say that the bus driver provided them with inconsistent stories about how the accident occurred. He was arrested and charged with failing to provide necessary information after a traffic accident.

Have You Been a Victim of a New Mexico Hit-and-Run Accident?

If you or a loved one has recently been a victim of a New Mexico hit-and-run accident, you may be entitled to monetary compensation. This may be the case even if the at-fault driver was unable to be located by the authorities. To learn more about New Mexico accident law, and to speak with a dedicated New Mexico personal injury attorney about your case, call 505-889-FINE to schedule a free consultation with an attorney from the Fine Law Firm. The personal injury lawyers at the Fine Law Firm have decades of combined experience helping their clients seek the compensation they deserve from those responsible for their injuries.

More Blog Posts:

Court Finds Driver’s Act of Waving Plaintiff Forward to Make Left Turn Was Not the Cause of Subsequent Accident, New Mexico Personal Injury Lawyer Blog, August 25, 2017.

New Mexico Dirt Road Accidents, New Mexico Personal Injury Lawyer Blog, August 9, 2017.