Under New Mexico law, any time a truck driver is involved in a New Mexico truck accident, the driver is required to stop and exchange information with any other party who was involved in the accident. Additionally, the truck driver must arrange to get anyone injured in the accident the necessary medical treatment. Often, the means calling 911 and waiting for emergency personnel to arrive.
When a truck driver flees after causing an accident, he may be criminally liable when apprehended by authorities. However, the fact that a driver fled the scene may be an indication that they do not have insurance. Even if a driver is located, there is the possibility that they do not have adequate insurance to cover the expenses of the accident victims. Under New Mexico law, drivers are only required to have $25,000 in coverage per person and $50,000 per accident. In situations in which an at-fault motorist does not have adequate insurance, accident victims can file a claim with their own insurance company under the underinsured motorist provision.
Filing a claim, however, is by no means a guarantee that an accident victim will receive fair compensation for their injuries. If an insurance company believes there is any basis to reject an accident victim’s claim – for example, if the accident victim was partially at fault – the insurance company may offer a very low settlement figure or deny the claim altogether.
Close-Call Hit-and-Run Accident Injures Teen
Earlier this month, a 13-year-old girl was injured when she was struck by a semi-truck while crossing the road. According to a local news source, the girl had started to cross the road when a truck driver entered the intersection, heading eastbound against a red light. The girl was unable to avoid the truck, which ran over her foot, causing her to spin around. The girl told police that the truck continued to drive east, failing to stop and check if she needed medical treatment.
The girl was able to safely make her way to the side of the road, where she called police. The girl was eventually taken to the hospital with minor injuries, where she is expected to make a full recovery. Police have not yet apprehended the driver of the semi-truck.
Have You Been a Victim of a New Mexico Hit-and-Run Accident?
If you or a loved one has recently been injured in a New Mexico hit-and-run accident, you may be entitled to monetary compensation. The skilled New Mexico personal injury lawyers at the Fine Law Firm have experience handling a wide range of personal injury matters, including those involving hit-and-run drivers. We are prepared to take on difficult insurance companies, and we know what it takes to get our clients the compensation they deserve. To learn more, and to schedule a free consultation to speak with an attorney about your case, call 505-889-FINE. Calling is free, and you will not be obligated to continue forward with your case unless it is your express desire to do so.
More Blog Posts:
Court Finds Driver’s Act of Waving Plaintiff Forward to Make Left Turn Was Not the Cause of Subsequent Accident, New Mexico Personal Injury Lawyer Blog, August 25, 2017.
New Mexico School Bus Accidents, New Mexico Personal Injury Lawyer Blog, September 18, 2017.