Early last week, two individuals were killed in a tragic accident near El Paso, Texas. According to one news report, the accident occurred when a music group’s touring van collided with a large 18-wheeler near a Border Patrol checkpoint. Evidently, the metal band was traveling in their tour bus at around 9:00 a.m. near U.S. 62/180 at the time of the accident. The tour bus was carrying about 11 people, 10 of which were band members. The band was on their way to Mesa, Arizona to perform a show when the accident occurred.
An initial investigation revealed that the band’s tour bus was traveling westbound and slammed head-on into the 18-wheeler. Currently, the reason the band’s bus slammed into the truck is not known. The El Paso Police stated that both the driver of the tour bus and the driver of the semi-truck were killed on impact. Several of the other band members are still facing serious to critical injuries.
Pursuing a Case for Damages as a Passenger in a New Mexico Accident
New Mexico is considered an at-fault state, and therefore a victim needs to prove fault and liability for any damages. In New Mexico, a person can seek financial compensation for what they have been through in one of several ways.
First, they can file a personal injury suit. Often, this is straightforward, but in situations when the victim is somehow related to the driver who caused the accident, complex issues can arise. For example, individuals in this situation may feel uncomfortable bringing a suit for monetary damages against a driver who may be a friend or loved one. However, accident victims should be aware that in most cases an insurance company will be the party paying out all damages.
Second, the injured party can file a claim with their own insurance company. Finally, the victim can file a claim with the other party’s insurance company. The latter two options may allow an accident victim to be fairly compensated without creating a potentially awkward situation with their friend or loved one. However, insurance companies may not be willing to pay out fair compensation for the injuries suffered, including pain and suffering.
Car Insurance Laws in New Mexico
Although filing a claim with an auto insurance company may avoid some awkwardness, it still has its own set of issues. In certain instances, the driver does not have auto insurance, or they may be under-insured. In New Mexico, the minimum coverage a driver has to have is just $25,000 for injury or death of one individual, $50,000 for injury or death of more than one party, and $10,000 for property damage. These amounts may not cover the total amount of medical bills, lost wages, decreased earning capacity, and pain and suffering caused by the accident.
Have You Been Injured in a Truck Accident in New Mexico?
If you or a loved one has been involved in an automobile accident, and you know the culpable party, you should contact one of the attorneys at the Fine Law Firm. An attorney at the Fine Law Firm can help you navigate the sensitive legal issues and help you understand your potential rights and remedies. Additionally, an attorney at the Fine Law Firm can represent your best interests when dealing with insurance companies. Contact the Fine Law Firm today at 505-243-4541 to schedule your free initial consultation.
More Blog Posts:
Truck Driver Killed in Accident Caused by Road Debris and Slowing Traffic, New Mexico Personal Injury Lawyer Blog, October 14, 2015.
Entire Family, Including Unborn Child, Involved in Deadly Accident with Truck, New Mexico Personal Injury Lawyer Blog, November 10, 2015.